Seamus McGarvey

Seamus McGarvey BSC, born 29 June 1967 in Armagh, Northern Ireland, began his career as a still photographer before attending film school at the University of Westminster in London.

On graduating in 1988 he began shooting short films and documentaries, including Skin, which was nominated for a Royal Television Society Cinematography Award, and ATLANTIC, directed by Sam Taylor-Wood, nominated for the 1998 Turner Prize.
He also photographed and directed over 100 music videos, for such artists as U2, The Rolling Stones, PJ Harvey, Robbie Williams, Sir Paul McCartney, Dusty Springfield and Coldplay. In 1998, the British Society of Cinematographers invited McGarvey to join.

In 2004 he was awarded the Royal Photographic Society’s prestigious Lumiere medal for contributions to the art of cinematography.

His credits as a cinematographer include Oliver Stone’s World Trade Center, starring Nicolas Cage, The Hours, directed by Stephen Daldry, starring Nicole Kidman, Meryl Streep and Julianne Moore, for which he earned the Evening Standard British Film Award for Best Technical/Artistic Achievement; the action-adventure film Sahara, starring Matthew McConaughey and Penelope Cruz, for which he won the Irish Film and Television Award for Best Cinematography; Along Came Polly, starring Ben Stiller and Jennifer Aniston; High Fidelity, directed by Stephen Frears, starring John Cusack; Wit, starring Emma Thompson, directed by Mike Nichols; Enigma, directed by Michael Apted; The War Zone; Butterfly Kiss; The Winter Guest; The Actors; A Map of the World; Charlotte’s Web; Atonement, for which he has received an Academy Award nomination (2008), an ASC Best Cinematography nomination,a BAFTA nomination (2008) and the Technical Achievement award in the Evening Standard British Film Awards for 2007[1] and won the 2008 Irish Film and Television Award for Best Cinematography.

He shot The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency directed by the late Anthony Minghella. In January 2008 he photographed The Soloist for director Joe Wright in Los Angeles. He recently completed Nowhere Boy for Sam Taylor-Wood.

He is a member of the ASC, the BSC and The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. He is a patron of The Edinburgh International Film Festival. In 2009 he was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of The Edinburgh College of Art.